Policy Council


Family involvement and leadership are critical to the success of our programs. For information on Policy Council as a Governing Body, see the documents below:

Shared Governance Guidance
PSESD Early Learning Governance System (English and Spanish)
Political Activities Procedure
What is Policy Council? - A Resource for Families  (English and Spanish)


Policy Council representatives are elected by their center's/site's parent groups and they work with program administrators and the PSESD Board to make decisions that directly affect our children and families. Policy Council members participate in all aspects of program planning and development, and must approve all personnel and budget recommendations.

Policy Council members include the following:
  • Parents of currently enrolled children
  • Parents who have had a child in the program in previous years
  • Community agency representatives drawn from organizations that provide services, support, and/or resources to the families we serve

Policy Council meets monthly, November to November. Representatives are eligible for a childcare and mileage subsidy reimbursement for meetings they attend. A light breakfast and lunch are served at meetings. Center/site staff and all members of the community are welcome to attend and observe these meetings.

Policy Council also plays a key role in identifying the needs of low-income families with young children in our communities by creating a Community Needs Report. This information complements the data collected as part of the Community Assessment Report.

To recruit and elect Policy Council representatives, see below:

Print & Post or Email Fliers (English and Spanish)
 

General Information

Policy Council Info Session, Training, and Meeting Dates
Policy Council By-laws:   English  ||  Spanish
Composition Chart
Parent Leadership Reimbursement (English and Spanish)
Parent Leadership Reimbursement - COVID-19 Guidelines (English and Spanish) 
 

 

2020–2021 Policy Council Meetings

For archived materials, please contact Cammy Ariola-Moku.

PSESD Policy Council - Events

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, May 30
Tue, Jun 1
Policy Council Leadership Team Meeting
-
via Zoom
Wed, Jun 2
Thu, Jun 3
Fri, Jun 4
Sat, Jun 5
Sun, Jun 6
Mon, Jun 7
Tue, Jun 8
Wed, Jun 9
Thu, Jun 10
Fri, Jun 11
Sat, Jun 12
Sun, Jun 13
Mon, Jun 14
Tue, Jun 15
Subscribe to Alerts Policy Council
-
via Zoom
Wed, Jun 16
Thu, Jun 17
Fri, Jun 18
Sat, Jun 19
Sun, Jun 20
Mon, Jun 21
Tue, Jun 22
Wed, Jun 23
Thu, Jun 24
Fri, Jun 25
Sat, Jun 26
Sun, Jun 27
Mon, Jun 28
Tue, Jun 29
Wed, Jun 30
Thu, Jul 1
Fri, Jul 2
Sat, Jul 3

Calendar & Category Legend:

  • PSESD Policy Council